Release upgrade to KUbuntu 13.10 Saucy


This time I got all errors you can have.

Before the upgrade I need to disable manually partners repository in /etc/apt/source.list.

Keep in mind to disable etc-keeper if you’re using it and if you choose btrfs to disable compression.

During the upgrade I got an error with updating initramfs. It was caused by initramfs-tools-ubuntu-touch so it’s safer to remove ubuntu-touch and initramfs-tools-ubuntu-touch before the upgrade if you don’t need them.

After i got to problems with grub :

Just after the kernel boot this message was displayed ten seconds :Error: environment block too small. It means that the file /boot/grub/grubenv is stucked to 1000 bytes instead of 1024 bytes.

Solution :

rm /boot/grub/grubenv
dpkg-reconfigure grub-pc

So, the kernel hangout during Btrfs scanning:

Still no solution. The scanning works in safe mode. Bugs reported in lauchpad suggests it’s an errors introduced in the kernel 3.11.0-12 and we should downgrade to 3.11.0-11 that is not available in generic flavour. I tried the lowlatency flavour without success. I tried too with the 3 last mainline kernels without success (https://wiki.ubuntu.com/Kernel/MainlineBuilds and http://kernel.ubuntu.com/~kernel-ppa/mainline/v3.12-rc3-saucy/).

Using the safe mode the Btrfs scanning is performing well but at the end of the boot, lightdm doesn’t start. It freezes and you cannot kill it using Ctrl+c. There’s no log. I tried gdm and it fails too. I configured kdm as main display manager and now I can log in.

Then I launch KDE4/Plasma and kwin doesn’t like wayland :

kwin: error while loading shared libraries: libwayland-eg1.so.1: no such file or directory

This time I found no clue to fix that. It’s not really a succes.

Unity still works… in kernel safe mode. But I don’t have the menu to logout (‘unity –reset-icons’ doesn’t change anything but loosing my customizations).

Since 1996 I never got such a mess for an upgrade.

Les commentaires sont fermés.

